If I Had One Wish

f5fd811e7db71bbfc7332acbd7b001bd

 

  • I wish that someone else can take care of me for the rest of my life financially, so I can do whatever I want.
  • I wish life was easy and it had a how-to-manual.
  • I wish I could tell Sallimae and my Alma mater that they should be paying me every month for the next 10 years.

Hey! I’m just being honest.

Despite my wishes I know I need to keep myself in reality. I am young enough to make mistakes, and old enough to make decisions and hold myself accountable for them. As my last post stated, I have made a decision to take better control of my personal finances.

What do I need to start?

Knowledge– I know I need to equip myself with knowledge. I need to break down all my debt, figure out the interest rates, etc. I also need to seek out information on personal finances and personal development.

Goals – I need to set goals. Long and short-term. When do I want to pay off my debt? Which one am I going to pay off first? I need to create a timeline and/or progress tracker.

A System – I need to create a financial system that works for me. I have read blogpost about snowballing, paying off debt based on interest, the save 10% rule and more. One thing I realized through my research is that everyone has a different method with the same end goal in mind.

Self-motivation– One of my biggest lessons this year has been that life does not always work out as planned. Sometimes being tested professionally, financially and personally can be a really sharp stab to confidence. If I am going to stick on this path, I need to find ways to keep myself motivated. I love hearing about other peoples success stories and accomplishments. I guess I will use that for now.

I’m pretty sure this list will grow and become more detailed as I go on, but for now this is a good start.

What are your three wishes? What tools have you used to navigate your way to your financial goals?

Photo Credit: Pinterest

